InsuranceFAQs

calhr how to put family members on your insurance

by Shanelle Nolan Published 10 months ago Updated 7 months ago
image

To add your spouse or registered domestic partner to your health plan, you must: Add them within 60 days after the date of your marriage or registration of your domestic partnership. Provide a copy of your marriage certificate or Declaration of Domestic Partnership.

Full Answer

Can a married couple enroll in CalPERS health insurance separately?

You and your spouse or registered domestic partner can enroll in the CalPERS Health Program separately if you both work, or worked, for agencies in the CalPERS Health Program. If you choose to enroll separately, one parent must carry all dependents on one health plan.

What is the CalPERS policy on removing family members?

CalPERS will inform you during your birth month in writing if administratively removing your family members from health benefits. CalPERS will include Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) continuation of coverage information with this letter.

How do I request additional enrollment kits for CalHR?

To request additional enrollment kits, please visit ARAG Resources for State of California Personnel Offices. This site also has a variety of CalHR approved materials that you can use to communicate with your employees about the Group Legal Services Insurance Plan.

Can I add my ex-spouse to my health plan?

Former spouses and domestic partners are not eligible. Your children, adopted children, stepchildren, or domestic partner's children who are under age 26 may be added to your health plan regardless of whether they live with you.

image

Can I put my wife's child on my insurance?

Yes, a stepchild is eligible to be a dependent on your health plan up to the age of 26 . If your coverage is an employer group plan that provides benefits to children, you will be given at least 30 days to enroll the new dependent. An eligible child can be a biological child, adopted child, stepchild or foster child.

Can I add my niece to my health insurance?

If your child has other sisters, brothers, half sisters, half brothers, or children of their own, you can also include them on your health insurance plan. Length of Residency: A child only qualifies as your dependent if they have lived with you for at least six months.

Can I add my grandchild to my health insurance in California?

No. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has defined the only eligibility requirement as the relationship of parent and child. Grandchildren and other dependent family members under the age of 26 are not eligible for coverage under your plan.

Do California state employees get free health insurance?

Medical Insurance - The State offers its employees a wide variety of health insurance options including Kaiser, United, Anthem, and Blue Shield/Blue Cross. For most plans, the State pays most of the premium for employees and their dependents. Medical Insurance is administered by CalPERS.

Can you add your family to your health insurance?

Most public and private insurance providers will permit you to add certain qualifying family members to your policy. For instance, most employer-sponsored group health plans willingly accept the spouses of covered members at a significant discount to the cost of individual coverage.

Can I add my girlfriend's daughter to my health insurance?

You can generally add a spouse and children until they turn 26 onto your health insurance plan. Members can't usually add other family members, such as parents and grandchildren. A divorce generally makes the ex-spouse eligible to stay on health insurance coverage, but not on their ex-spouse's health plan.

Can children insure parents?

Oct. 8, 2021, at 3:25 p.m. SACRAMENTO, Calif. (AP) — California is the first state to let some adult children add their parents as dependents on their insurance plans, a move advocates hope will cover the small population of people living in the country illegally who don't qualify for other assistance programs.

Can I add my mom to my health insurance Kaiser?

∎ Your parents are responsible for paying the monthly premium, administration fees, and copayments. You may have the opportunity to enroll your parents, stepparents, parents-in-law, or parents of your domestic partner in Kaiser Permanente medical coverage.

Can you add your mom to your insurance?

A: No, you cannot include your parents on your plan. They must enroll in their own health plan through their job, an individual insurance plan or Medicare (if they are eligible).

What happens to my CalPERS if I quit my job?

Once CalPERS membership is terminated, you no longer are entitled to any CalPERS benefits, including retirement. You are eligible for a refund only if you are not entering employment with another CalPERS-covered employer. Applicable state and federal taxes will be withheld from your refund.

Which is better PPO or HMO?

HMO plans typically have lower monthly premiums. You can also expect to pay less out of pocket. PPOs tend to have higher monthly premiums in exchange for the flexibility to use providers both in and out of network without a referral. Out-of-pocket medical costs can also run higher with a PPO plan.

When can I retire with CalPERS?

age 50In general, you can retire as early as age 50 with five years of service credit unless all service was earned on or after January 1, 2013. Then you must be at least age 52 to retire. There are some exceptions to the 5-year requirement.

What happens to my health, dental, and vision benefits while I'm on family and medical leave?

The law requires the employer to continue making the normal contributions to your health, dental, and vision benefits while you're on family and medical leave.

How many weeks of leave do parents in law get?

Parents-in-law are not eligible. The 26 weeks is not in addition to the 12 weeks you'd receive to treat an illness. You get a total of 26 weeks. Use the forms linked below to claim your leave rights.

Why is family leave important?

Family Leave helps employees balance their work and family responsibilities by allowing them to take reasonable unpaid leave for certain family and medical reasons. It also seeks to accommodate the legitimate interests of employers and promote equal employment opportunity for men and women. The federal Family and Medical Leave Act and ...

How long is a birth leave?

You're entitled to a one year unpaid, job-protected leave of absence for birth or adoption. You may use leave credits to receive pay for some or all of the time off.

How will I know if my family members are removed from health and/or dental benefits?

CalPERS will inform you during your birth month in writing if administratively removing your family members from health benefits. CalPERS will include Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) continuation of coverage information with this letter. The disenrollment of your family members is effective the first of the month after your birth month.

How do I know which of my dependents are enrolled in dental benefits?

You may contact your departmental personnel office or visit the dental carrier website and create an online profile. From your online profile, you can view who is enrolled on your plan. Below is a list of the carrier websites:

Why am I required to provide the documents again, when I provided them at the initial enrollment of my dependents?

In subsequent re-verifications, you need not provide birth certificates for natural-born children or adoption certificates for adopted children again. You also need not provide the government issued marriage certificate, domestic partnership registration, and birth certificates for stepchildren or domestic partner children, unless requested. However, you are required to provide documents to demonstrate that the marriage or domestic partnership remains current.

What about family members enrolled in dental benefits, but not health?

Your departmental personnel office will track your family members who are enrolled in dental benefits, and re-verify their eligibility for continued coverage once every three years, following the DRV schedule.

Where can I find more information on health and dental benefits?

The CalPERS " State Health Benefits Guide " contains health benefit information. The CalHR Dental Program website contains dental benefit information.

Whom can I contact if I disagree with the decisions from my departmental personnel office on my dependent re-verification?

You must contact your departmental departmental personnel office with questions regarding dependent re-verification. If you disagree with the departmental personnel​ decision on the re-verification of your family members, you must submit your reasoning for disagreement, in writing , to the departmental contact.

What is dependent verification?

The Dependent Re-verification (DRV) is the process of re-verifying the eligibility of spouses, domestic partners, children, stepchildren, and domestic partner children (family members) enrolled in state health and dental benefits. Government Code section 22843.1 mandates re-verifying the eligibility of your family members. Government Code section 22959 authorizes extending this review to your family members enrolled in dental benefits. The bargaining unit contracts specify that your family members’ eligibility for dental benefits shall be the same as that prescribed for health benefits.

How to contact Calpers after death?

In the event of a member's death, report this information to the member's employer. If the member was retired, contact us at 888 CalPERS (or 888 -225-7377). Surviving family members may be eligible for health coverage as long as they: Continue to qualify as eligible family members.

How long do you have to add a disabled spouse to your health plan?

Disabled Dependents. Spouses. To add your spouse or registered domestic partner to your health plan, you must: Add them within 60 days after the date of your marriage or registration of your domestic partnership. Provide a copy of your marriage certificate or Declaration of Domestic Partnership.

What are dependents in the military?

Dependents in military, when they return to civilian life. Eligible children who are not in your custody. Spouse or registered domestic partner not living in your home. You also have the option to enroll only yourself, regardless of the status of your marriage or registered domestic partnership. Spouses.

What happens if you find a split enrollment?

If split enrollments are discovered, they will be retroactively corrected. You will be responsible for any costs incurred from the date the split enrollment began.

What to do if you lose a dependent?

Death of a Dependent. If you lost a family member who is a dependent under your health plan, notify your employer as soon as possible. If you are retired, call us at 888 CalPERS (or 888 -225-7377). Learn what additional steps to take in the event of a death. Share This Page.

How long does a dependent have to be enrolled in health insurance after death?

Upon the death of an active state employee, the law requires their employer to continue to pay contributions for the enrolled survivor's health coverage for up to 120 days after their death.

What happens if you are no longer eligible for CalPERS?

If you find you are no longer eligible for the CalPERS Health Program, you may be eligible for COBRA.

How long do you have to change your health insurance?

You must apply for any changes or enrollments within 60 calendar days of the permitting event date. For questions about permitting events, contact your department’s personnel office.

How long do you have to be on a health insurance plan to qualify for benefits?

Benefit Eligibility. Employees are eligible for health benefits if they have an appointment of more than six months (at least six months plus one day) and a time base of half-time or more.

What is dependent verification?

Dependent Re-verification (DRV) is the triennial process of re-verifying the eligibility of spouses, domestic partners, children, stepchildren, and domestic partner children (family members) enrolled in state health and dental benefits.

What about family members enrolled in dental benefits only?

Departmental personnel offices are to establish a method to track employees with family members enrolled for dental benefits only, and re-verify their eligibility for continued coverage once every three years, following the DRV schedule.

How will employees know to re-verify their family members?

The letter will provide the re-verification due date, a listing of the family members enrolled in health benefits, and the acceptable re-verification documents. Two additional reminder letters will be sent to employees 60 and 30 days prior to the re-verification due date. Employees are to promptly provide re-verification documents and a completed Dependent Eligibility Verification Checklist (CalHR Form 781) to their departmental personnel office.

Will employees be reimbursed for the cost of obtaining re-verification documents?

No. Employees will be responsible for any charges related to obtaining copies of the required documents.

What happens if employees provide re-verification documents after the family members are disenrolled from benefits?

If employees provide re-verification documents for disenrolled, eligible dependents after receiving the final CalPERS notice before the re-verification due date, departmental personnel offices may rescind the dependent deletion. Employees may incur an accounts receivable for the premium for the month after their birth month.

Where can employees and departmental personnel staff find more information on health and dental benefits?

The CalPERS " State Health Benefits Guide " contains health benefit information and the CalHR Dental Program website contains dental benefit information.

Whom can employees contact with additional questions?

Employees can contact their departmental departmental personnel offices.

Will employees be required to provide original documents?

No. Employees should provide copies of the documents and write "Not for Official Use" on them. Original documents should not be submitted. However, departmental personnel staff performing verifications should make copies and return originals, if they are submitted inadvertently.

When is a dependent child no longer eligible for insurance?

When an eligible dependent child marries or reaches age 26 (whichever is sooner) they are no longer eligible for coverage under the insured employees plan. This is known as a Mandatory Deletion. The employee must submit an enrollment form if they wish to change to individual coverage when the dependent child loses eligibility.

How to contact ARAG for retirement?

Employees should be given a retiree enrollment kit upon retiring. Personnel offices can contact ARAG Insurance to request enrollment kits by calling (800) 888-4184, Extension 605, or by emailing a request to clientsupport@ARAGlegal.com.

How to request additional enrollment kits?

To request additional enrollment kits, please visit ARAG Resources for State of California Personnel Offices. This site also has a variety of CalHR approved materials that you can use to communicate with your employees about the Group Legal Services Insurance Plan.

What is the phone number for a group legal enrollment?

Monday-Friday, 5:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Pacific Time. Toll-free (866) 762-0972. TTY (800) 383-4184 (or 711 to reach a relay operator) To enroll, cancel or change coverage options by mail or fax, employees should complete the Group Legal Enrollment Authorization Form 200550 and mail or fax it to ARAG Insurance.

When does ARAG insurance end?

If a permanent-intermittent employee loses eligibility because they did not have the required number of paid hours during the qualifying control period and the employee wants to continue their legal insurance coverage, they must contact ARAG Insurance to set up direct payment. The effective date of cancellation is February 1 for the control period that ends in December, or August 1 for the control period that ends in June. At the end of the plan year (December 31), all permanent-intermittent employees paying ARAG Insurance directly will be cancelled and may re-enroll in the legal insurance during Open Enrollment if they are credited with the required number of paid hours during the qualifying control period.

What is the form for the California Fairs?

Employees of California Exposition and State Fairs (Cal Expo), California Fairs Services Authority (Cal Fairs) or the Legislative Analyst's Office (LAO), must fill out the Group Legal Enrollment Authorization Form for Actives including full-time, part-time, and direct pay departments, Form #200849, and return the form to their department's personnel office for processing.​

How many hours are required for a six month period?

The designated six-month periods are January 1 to June 30, inclusive or July 1 to December 31, inclusive of each calendar year. A permanent-intermittent employee must be credited with a minimum of 480 paid hours in a designated six-month period or 960 paid hours in two consecutive periods.

How to determine monthly deductions for dependent care?

To determine a monthly deduction amount that's appropriate for you, start by reviewing your dependent care expenses over the past year. Consider factors that may cause the cost to fluctuate such as your child returning to or entering school, reaching age 13, vacations, school breaks, care provider's vacation, etc.

How old do you have to be to claim child care on taxes?

Child care. For child care expenses to qualify, your child must be a dependent under the age of 13 when the child care is provided. (There is no age limit if your child is disabled.) You must be able to claim an exemption for this child on your federal tax return.

What is the form for dependent care reimbursement?

Filing IRS Form 2441: If you're enrolled in a Dependent Care Reimbursement Account for the current plan year, you will need to complete Part 3 of IRS Form 2441 ("Child and Dependent Care Expenses") and attach this form to your current federal tax return. (If you use Form 1040A, attach Schedule 2 instead.)​

What are related expenses that are reimbursable?

Related expenses that are reimbursable. Services required for the maintenance of your household such as cleaning and cooking are eligible for reimbursement if the primary function of the provider of this service is to care for your dependent.

How many hours can a disabled person live in their home?

If the care is for a parent or other dependent who is disabled, that person must live in your home at least 8 hours a day , be unable to care for himself or herself, and be someone you can claim an exemption for on your federal tax return (even if you don't claim the exemption because the person's income exceeds the allowable limit).

Is child care reimbursable?

Expenses for child care, elder care, and care for a disabled dependent are reimbursable if the care is necessary for you to work or look for work. If you're married, your spouse must also work, unless he or she is a full-time student or physically or mentally incapable of caring for himself or herself.

When is dependent care reimbursable?

To be reimbursable, the care must be provided sometime from the effective date of your enrollment through the current plan year. This is different than if you claim a tax credit on your current federal tax return, which bases eligibility on the year when you paid for the dependent care rather than when the care was provided.

Who is responsible for designating if an employee's use of paid leave counts as FMLA leave?

The employer is responsible for designating if an employee's use of paid leave counts as FMLA leave based on information for the employee.

How many hours do you have to work to be a covered employer?

work for a covered employer; have worked for the employer for a total of 12 months; have worked at least 1250 hours over the previous 12 months; and. work at a location in the United States or in any territory or possession of the United States where at least 50 employees are employed by the employer within 75 miles.

Who administers the CFRA?

The California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) administers and enforces the CFRA for all state and local employees. State legislation in 1993 changed the state law to generally conform to the provisions of the FMLA. Where the FMLA law and the CFRA law differ, the most generous/less restrictive leave provisions must be applied.

How long is California caregiver leave?

The calendar year method, January through December, is used by the State of California, except for Military Caregiver Leave where the 12-month period is measured by counting forward from the first day the employee takes the leave and ends 12 months later.

How many workweeks can you take on FMLA?

In addition, FMLA includes a special leave entitlement that permits eligible employees to take up to 26 workweeks of leave to care for a covered servicemember during a 12-month period.

How many weeks of FMLA can you take?

The FMLA/CFRA entitles eligible employees to take up to 12 workweeks (26 workweeks to care for a servicemember) of unpaid, job-protected leave in a 12-month period and the continuation of health benefits for one or more of the following reasons: The birth and care of a newborn child of the employee.

When did the CFRA expand to include leave?

Effective January 1, 2021, SB 1383 expanded the CFRA to include leave because of a qualifying exigency related to the covered active duty or call to active duty of an employee’s spouse, domestic partner, child, or parent in the Armed Forces of the United States, as specified in Section 3302.2 of the Unemployment Insurance Code.

What is FMLA after 12 months?

If an employee reaches the 12-month eligibility requirement while on leave, the leave period prior to meeting the requirement is non-FMLA/CFRA leave, and the leave period after the requirement is fulfilled is FMLA/CFRA leave.

Who maintains authority to investigate CFRA complaints?

The DFEH maintains authority to investigate CFRA complaints.

image
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9